Statewide Independent Living Council of Tennessee | About Us
page-template,page-template-full_width,page-template-full_width-php,page,page-id-13396,ajax_fade,page_not_loaded,,qode-title-hidden,qode_grid_1200,qode-child-theme-ver-1.0.0,qode-theme-ver-10.0,wpb-js-composer js-comp-ver-4.12,vc_responsive


The Statewide Independent Living Council of Tennessee’s mission is to promote Independent Living philosophies, practices and values and expand IL services across the state.

The Statewide Independent Living Council of Tennessee (SILC TN), is a 501(c)3 independent nonprofit governed by people with disabilities. For more than 20 years, our mission has been to promote Independent Living (IL) philosophies in Tennessee and support its practices and values. As such, the SILC TN educates the community and public leaders about the IL philosophy, provides training and support to the Independent Living community, and, per new language of the Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA), facilitates funding opportunities for expanding the practice of IL in Tennessee.


The SILC TN is federally mandated and funded under the Rehabilitation Act, 1992 Amendment, Title VII. The SILC is governor by the Statewide Independent Living Council appointed by the Governor and comprised of Tennesseans with diverse disabilities and advocates for people with disabilities from across the state. The Council supports and oversees the work of the SILC TN and participates triennially in developing the State Plan for Independent Living (SPIL) in collaboration with the Tennessee Division of Rehabilitation Services. The Council then monitors, reviews, and evaluates the SPIL implementation. The Council also coordinates activities with the State Rehabilitation Council and with other councils to address issues affecting Tennesseans with disabilities.


If you are interested in becoming a SILC member, please review our application process or email Connie Robinson for more information. To better understand our meetings, you can review past meeting minutes.


Lisa Suttles, Chair

Alicia Cone, Vice Chair

Norma Smith, Secretary

Edward Mitchell, Treasurer

Janie Hadley

Jill Hindman

Sandi Klink

Cynthia Martin

Matthew Wermer

Heather Wilson

Want to learn more? View our work.